Spanglish Fly New York Rules feat Joe Bataan​/​Chain of Fools feat Snowboy


Electric Cowbell Records is freakin’ thrilled to announce the latest 45 rpm 7” single by NYC-based Latin boogaloo group Spanglish Fly. Two previously unreleased tracks–with special guests!

Side A is Spanglish’s NYC anthem featuring guest vocals by none other than Latin soul legend Joe Bataan. But this is not your grandmother’s boogaloo! Johnny Rosario, a/k/a DJ Johnny Juice (Public Enemy) takes Spanglish’s jazzy jam, adds beats and scratches, and turns it into a Latin Hip-Hop dance explosion.

The tune is about the toughness and diversity of New Yorkers in the midst of–what else?–a subway train stalled between stations. Composers Manuel Garcia-Orozco (Chaco World Music) and Jonathan Goldman (Spanglish bandleader) wrote it hearing Bataan’s streetwise voice in their minds, and the band was thrilled when “Subway Joe,” always a supporter of younger artists, agreed to add his tamp to the record.

This track is featured in Spike Lee’s She’s Gotta Have It (Season 2. Episode 1).

The B side is Spanglish’s instrumental take on “Chain of Fools” (immortalized by Aretha Franklin’s version), here in a new, stripped-down-raw mix/edit by DJ LeSpam (Spam All-Stars), who says “I wanted it to sound like an old funk 45.” Inspired by Mongo Santamaria’s Latin covers of 60s/70s soul hits, the track is propelled by a 5-piece percussion section that includes a guest appearance by Snowboy, stalwart of the Latin music movement in the UK. Passing through New York City during the sessions for Spanglish’s Ay Que Boogaloo! LP (2018), Snowboy hit the studio and lit up the congas for a few takes.

Made in loving collaboration and association with Chaco World Music, Spanglish Fly, and Electric Cowbell Records.

For international shipping please contact us directly for shipping options.