CSC Funk Band Translucent Yellow/Gold Vinyl 12" LP "Above the Starrs"


Above the Starrs: Former Fiancé:

CSC Funk Band, a 10-piece supergroup featuring members of GWAR, The USA Is a Monster and Talibam!, deliver on their most ambitious undertaking yet with “Above The Starrs,” an all-instrumental homage to the seminal East Coast hip-hop duo, Gang Starr, that consisted of MC Guru and the DJ/producer DJ Premier. In the three years since their last full-length “Funkincense,” was selected for SPIN’s “Record Store Day Shopping Guide: 42 Essential Releases,” CSC’s 10 band members have poured hundreds of hours of studio experimentation into this highly anticipated follow-up album, resurrected from the Fat Beats vaults and originally inspired by a live collaboration with rapper Masta Ace at a Guru tribute concert. "Above the Starrs" offers an instant rap-geek curio for anyone who likes hearing bands cross the bounds of sample-based and live hip-hop instrumentation. Originally released and sold out for Record Store Day 2017, this reissue comes in vibrant translucent yellow/gold vinyl.

Track listing:
A1 Above The Starrs
A2 A Little Weight
A3 Wing Clip
A4 Western Mass Appeal
A5 Former Fiancé
B1 A Little Planet
B2 Just To Get A Sip
B3 A Little Work
B4 New York Straight Jacket
B5 A Little Personal

* Orders outside of the US are subject to additional postage